The Book Thief

Just finished a book.
It was the kind of book that I can’t stop thinking about.

It’s called The Book Thief.

This book. The words. They are so good you can taste them.

This book is set during World War 2. Obviously you’re going to cry. I
was prepared to cry. I was not prepared to sob uncontrollably for the
last few chapters until I needed to take a nap to get over my
emotional reaction.

This book. You feel like you know the characters. After I read it I
caught myself thinking about them as if they were people I actually
know.

When I told my brother how much I cried he said, “Well duh, it’s a
book about the holocaust. Of course you cried.”

I cried at the inhumanity of the Nazi party.

I cried at the death of beloved characters.

But mostly I cried at the glimpses of goodness and humanity that ran throughout.

This book. Is beautiful. And I highly recommend it.

3 Comments

  1. I’ve had this book on my shelf for months, but haven’t yet opened it. You convinced me. It’s officially going in my purse tomorrow for any and all spare moments. Yes. I’ll get up off of my comfy chair and grab it right now. Thank you, ladies!

    Another touching WWII book is Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli. It’s the story of Nazi occupied Poland told through the eyes of an eight-year-old gypsy boy. This nameless orphan boy smuggles, dodges Jackboots (Nazis) and searches for his identity. It too is sad – as you said, how could a Holocaust story NOT be? But the boy’s journey is heart-warming at the same time.

  2. Pingback: Melissa’s Top Books of 2011 « Young Adult Pageturners

  3. Pingback: The Berlin Boxing Club « Young Adult Pageturners

Leave a Reply

