The Throne of Fire

I know it’s bad form to review a book in the middle of a series without reviewing book one.

But, it’s my blog, I do what I want.

I’ve been a fan of Rick Riordan for a long time. In college I picked up The Lightning Thief and have spent many days pushing it on other people. I even own two copies. The book is that great.

Where The Lightning Thief focused on Greek Mythology, The Red Pyramid and Throne of Fire focus on Egyptian mythology. As a former Egyptian geek, I should love it. But I really don’t think it stands up to his first series.

In this series, also called the Kane Chronicles, a brother and sister duo find that they are descended from ancient Pharaohs and therefore have access to Egyptian magic. The story is told in a back in forth manner with the kids taking turns at narrating chapters. The first book, The Red Pyramid, started really slowly for me. It took me a long time to like the characters and to get into the plot which seemed confusing for a while. I did end up liking, but not loving it.

This second chapter in the series is better. I liked the narrators much more immediately and the story was followable. The adventures kept me reading late at night to finish chapters and I do love Egyptian mythology.

What gets me though is that in The Lightning Thief I was an obnoxious reader. I would crack up out loud and laugh at the one-liners and the thoughts frantically passing through Percy’s mind. Then I wouldn’t explain why when people asked because I really had to finish. I loved those books.

The humor is there in these books, I’m just not laughing out loud.

My brother read these as well and agreed.

He said, “They’re good, just not as good as Percy Jackson…”

Which is how I would wrap it up. Worth reading, for sure. But treat it as an appetizer to the meal that is Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief.

2 Comments

  1. My brother and I totally had this exact same conversation and completely agree with you. Good but not as good….I will still probably read the second one though, but not in any rush. (My brother however is counting down the days til The Son of Neptune comes out.)

  2. Pingback: Double Feature: The Lost Hero and The Son of Neptune « Young Adult Pageturners

Leave a Reply

