Anna and the French Kiss

by Stephanie Perkins

 

For Anna’s senior year, her parents decide to send her to an American boarding school in Paris. She is initially furious at being forced to leave her best friend and the boy she likes behind. Plus she doesn’t even know French. However, she quickly becomes part of a group of friends in Paris, which includes Etienne St. Clair, the most popular boy in the class. During her year abroad, Anna becomes comfortable with herself, learns important lessons about friendship, and, of course, gets to experience the perfect kiss.

I read Anna and the French Kiss while drinking tea and taking my first ever bubble bath. It was one of the most relaxing things I have ever done. It is the perfect book for that kind of thing. It is full of love and romance and travelling. It just makes you feel good and happy. Yes, it’s a little cheesy and predictable. But sometimes that is a good thing. This was high quality predictableness so that makes it ok.

 

Also, there were a couple of things that took this book from good to amazing for me.

 

First of all, Anna loves old movies and goes to see two of my favorites while she is in France: It Happened One Night and Mr. Smith Goes to Washington. Now I want to see them in a movie theater too.  For just mentioning those movies the book gets extra points.

 

And then there is Etienne St. Clair. He is, for me, the best love interest. He is half American, half French, and grew up in London, which means a British accent. I don’t know why that matters in a book, but British accents are attractive no matter what. And to top it all off he is short. Short is not a typical trait for the perfect guy, but I personally really like short guys and I think they are way too over looked.

 

Overall, I just really loved Anna and the French Kiss. It is an extremely enjoyable feel good book.

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Katie’s Top books of 2011 « Young Adult Pageturners

  2. I started reading this book and I thought to myself, “I imagine this being like a Mary-Kate and Ashely Olsen movie. I hope it is.” And it was. Super light-hearted and fun. I only wish I had been sitting on a beach while reading it or, better yet, in Paris.

Leave a Reply

