Prom and Prejudice

I picked this book up because I expected it to not make my brain do any thinking at all.

I also love Pride and Prejudice so I figured it couldn’t be all bad.

While the beginning of the story started off a little slow for me with lots of nods to the original, the plot picks up and by the middle of the book I found myself immersed and enjoying it in its own right.

To die-hard Pride and Prejudice fans like myself, you might find yourself cringing occasionally with the liberties taken with changing the characters to make them work in a modern-day setting, but I actually really liked it. Enough to write about it here and not pretend that I’ve never read anything that looks so silly.

I started it this morning and had finished by lunch.

This book is great for lazy summer days when you don’t want to think too hard or feel too much. There’s just the right amount of emotional involvement with the characters and the story is different enough from the original that you need to read it to see what happens next.

And Darcy is still a keeper.

Leave a Reply

