Reject Books

In case you haven’t noticed, I have been a slacker blogger. At the moment I am more of a glorified guest blogger than an actual blogger, but hopefully that will be changing soon. Anyways, maybe I haven’t done enough actual posts for me to even think of doing this one but my sister said it would make the blog better and more real. By talking about books that I don’t like, I won’t look like I love every book ever written. Now you will know that when I say I love a book, I really mean it. Melissa kind of already did this with her last book and now I am going to too. So, here are the books that I have read in the last month or so that do not deserve a full review. And just to clarify, my feelings toward these books range from neutral to absolute dislike. They are not all equal.

Steel by Carrie Vaughn

This book sounded so promising with the pirates and magic and time travel. But no no no. It was such a short book but it took FOREVER to read. This one I am going to full-out recommend you NOT read. There was little character development, a slow plot, an unromantic token romance, and too many fencing references.

The Absolute Value of Mike by Kathryn Erskine

I had really high hopes for this book because I loved Mockingbird which is also by Kathryn Erskine. However, this book just didn’t do anything for me. I can’t put my finger on what was wrong. It was funny and interesting and emotional. I don’t know. I just didn’t enjoy it and I couldn’t wait to be done with it. The two bloggers I follow liked it, though, so maybe give it a try. And definitely read Mockingbird. It was so good and made me cry so hard.

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott

This book was a recommendation from my younger brother. He couldn’t get enough of it and immediately had to read the sequel. It started with such potential but then I just kept waiting for the action. I will admit that it got better towards the end, but not until the very end. So I might give the next one a try. On the other hand, there are so many good books out there I don’t know if I want to take the time. This series is pretty popular, has anyone read it that thinks I should give it another shot?

 Between getting married and moving and working it has been one crazy summer and my ability to stay focused on anything has been extremely low. So I guess don’t judge these last two books too harshly just in case it’s me and not them. Oh! And I have read some good ones and hopefully the reviews for those will be coming soon.

Leave a Reply

