The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

by Michelle Hodkin

Sometimes when I’m interrupted while reading a book, the real world gets foggy.  The edges are blurry and I feel disconnected from people. It takes a good hour to shake it off. To me, this is the mark of a truly good book.

I read part of this book before work today. I floated into school and had to tear my mind away from the story.

Mara Dyer is struggling with demons.

She is the only survivor of the collapse of a building that killed her best friend, her boyfriend, and his sister. And although she knows they are dead, she can’t stop seeing their faces in mirrors and in crowds.

When more terrible events follow Mara, she starts to wonder if she’s crazy or if there is more to the situation than it seems. She meets this boy, named Noah, who is confusing and wonderful and dangerous and beautiful all at once.

I don’t want to say anything else. This book wasn’t predictable. If I gave spoilers away I’d never forgive myself.

If you are looking for an intensely fascinating, creepy read, pick this up. It’s pretty fantastic. And I’m already ready for wherever the next book will take me.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Melissa’s Top Books of 2011 « Young Adult Pageturners

Leave a Reply

