Katie’s Top books of 2011

So as Melissa promised, here is my list of the top books I read in 2011. Unfortunately I only wrote a review for one of them, mostly because I read the rest before the blog was started. So I am just going to give little tiny descriptions to at least give you an idea of what they are about. I promise they are all very amazing.

1. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

-This was the first book I read by John Green and I just can’t get enough. Colin is a child prodigy who is good with anagrams and only dates girls named Katherine. After a particularly bad breakup with the 19th Katherine, Colin and his friend, Hassan, go on a road trip, and Colin tries to create a mathematical equation that explains his relationships.

2. StarCrossed by Elizabeth C. Bunce

-I stayed up all night to finish this one and then recommended it to everyone I knew. StarCrossed is set in a magical world where magic is outlawed and everyone lives in fear of the harsh religious fanatics who are in charge. Digger is a thief and spy who has just narrowly avoided arrest.  She goes into hiding as a lady in waiting to a rich family but soon finds herself involved in not only their secrets, but also revolution. The sequel, Liar’s Moon, is also out and it is pretty darn good too.

3. Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride

-This book was really funny and a little creepy and about as close as I will ever get to reading a horror book. So not close at all. Sam is an ordinary college dropout with no plans until he realizes he has secret necromancy powers. When these powers are discovered by an evil, power-hungry necromancer, Sam and everyone he knows is put into danger.

4. Divergent by Veronica Roth

– This book has a Hunger Games feel. It’s dystopian with a strong female character, a little romance, and a fair amount of violence. Divergent takes place in a Chicago of the future.  As a  way to maintain peace, everyone in the society is separated into a faction based on their personality/values (Abnegation, Amity, Candor, Dauntless, and Erudite). Each faction has a very specific role in the society and interaction between factions is kept to a minimum. Once she turns 16, Beatrice leaves her family’s Abnegation faction to join the Dauntless. Life here is extremely different than what she is used to. As she goes through initiation into the faction, Beatrice learns a lot about herself and her family, and discovers dangerous forces that are disrupting the society’s balance of power.

5. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

And that’s it. Happy (late) New Year!

2 Comments

  1. Katie, I loved An Abundance of Katherines. Thank you for that recommendation. It was funny and charming and dealt with sad/serious issues in a non-sad way. And I know you had just as much fun as me trying to remember the math to figure out how that equation worked. (I would have been in support of more pages on the mathematical proof actually.)

    StarCrossed was also pretty good. It felt like it got kind of slow in the middle and I had a hard time getting through it, but it really picked up towards the end and then I had a hard time putting it down. My library doesn’t have Liar’s Moon…what am I going to do!

  2. Pingback: Divergent « Young Adult Pageturners

Leave a Reply

