Matched/Crossed

by Ally Condie

I’ve been meaning to write about Matched for quite a while. I’ve read it a couple of times now, and I can’t say enough about it.  Cassia lives in a society where on your 16th birthday you are Matched with your partner. But the computer has a blip and for a split second Cassia sees another face, and in that moment she rethinks everything she once thought was true. The book starts off simply. The thoughts are simple, the plot is simple. But as Cassia embarks on this journey, everything becomes deeper and more complex. The book is written beautifully as well, and has incredible themes of love and self acceptance and wisdom.

This book was followed by Crossed. I finished it the other day and probably need to reread it- the book is much darker than Matched was and much more serious. The story is told from two viewpoints, and the chapters go back and forth between stories. I still love Condie’s style of writing- the descriptions are gorgeous and the character development was phenomenal- but I was left sad at the end of this one instead of hopeful. I’m looking forward to the next installment; I just hope it ends on a positive note since I am so invested in the characters at this point in the series.

Leave a Reply

