Why We Broke Up

by Daniel Handler

Why We Broke Up is about the relationship between Min and Ed, told after it has ended. Min and Ed have broken up and Min decides it’s time to give him back his box of stuff. In a letter, Min explains the significance of each item in the box and describes how everything lead to them eventually breaking up. This book is the letter. Through each item, we see how the relationship started, developed, and ended.

I really liked this book.It is told with such emotion and detail and it did strange things with my mind. Somehow I cried and cried over a crappy relationship that I knew was doomed. Let me tell you, it was not the best choice for Valentine’s Day. Even though I was told from the start that this relationship was going to end (and probably badly), I was still hoping it would somehow work. Even though I couldn’t stand Ed at first, I eventually found myself really liking him and hoping he would be a great guy. And even though in real life, I would never ever ever want a friend to get back together with Ed, I am still hoping they will maybe get back together some day. How pitiful. They aren’t even real.

Interesting Fact: Daniel Handler writes books under another name too… Lemony Snicket. As in A Series of Unfortunate Events. Holy cow! I was more than surprised when I found that out. At fist I couldn’t see any connection between that series and this book. I would never have thought they were by the same person. But I have been thinking about it a lot and I finally figured it out. I didn’t finish A Series of Unfortunate Events, but I did read quite a few. I was always horrified by their unhappy endings and yet I kept coming back for more. It didn’t matter how depressed it made me, Daniel Handler/Lemony Snicket wrote in a way that I needed to know what happened next. That is EXACTLY what this book is like. I would read a section, start crying, put it away, and then five minutes later come right back. It is tough and unhappy, but so engaging. Clearly that must be his thing.

Leave a Reply

