Prized

by Caragh M. O’Brien

 

The sequel to Birthmarked finds Gaia and her baby sister stumbling through the desert about to die. A man on a horse discovers them and takes them to Sylum, a land that is almost the opposite of the Enclave. Here Gaia soon discovers the world is run by women and the babies are primarily boys, leaving the community close to extinction.

This story drew me in as the first did and kept me reading to find the next step. I think I liked the first book better, but the book kept me up late at night to catch the ending. Gaia has to deal with some pretty controversial things in this book, and true to her character, she struggles with what she thinks is right and what the community is trying to tell her to be.

I respect strong women in literature and Gaia does not disappoint. She struggles as we all do with what she believes and in how that will effect the people in her life and is forced to make some tough decisions.

While I liked the first book better, this was a good follow-up and I’m looking forward to finishing the series.

Leave a Reply

